General Discussion Triathlon Talk » back pain from swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-03-21 11:45 AM

User image

Regular
Montreal, Quebec
Subject: back pain from swimming
I'm new to swimming, I started last October. I've been making very good progress by swimming twice a week throughout the winter and swimming with a coach who helped me get a good technique and allowed me to get faster (not very fast, just faster )

Anyway, last week I 'graduated' to lane 2. The people are bit faster in this lane and I've been doing a good job following them. I'm pushing more though and I can really feel it after the workout.

Since then though, every time I swim, I get a very bad pain in my upper back right near the middle on the left. Seems like a pulled muscle. I swam Thursday and was suppose to swim again this morning but couldn't do it It hurt too much. I've been icing and pooping ibuprofen and trying to get this pain to go away.... I can't run either cause the impact makes it worst.

I'm seeing the chiropractor on Thursday (might try to get in Monday) but in the meantime, should I just stop training? The good news is that this week is recovery week so the workouts will be a bit easier so that might help. I feel bad because I was doing so good and now this!! It's frustrating.

2009-03-21 4:04 PM
in reply to: #2031747

User image

Extreme Veteran
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Subject: RE: back pain from swimming
I'm no expert, but here is my humble opinion:

1) Maybe you are swimming with your head lifted too high? You need to keep your spine in alignment, and if the head is too high, it can cause a strain on the spine.

2) Some back and core strengthening exercises might be in order.

I would also recommend talking to the swim coach. He/she might have some good advice.

Kris
2009-03-21 8:33 PM

User image

Master