General Discussion Triathlon Talk » My swim video - please critique Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2009-05-11 9:25 PM

Subject: My swim video - please critique
OK.  I've yet to do a triathlon and I'm working on my swimming.  I'd like for ya'll to tell me what you think ... I've been to a Master's swim class but don't get much feedback.  It's 6 minutes long ... the first 2 minutes or so is head on, the middle 2 minutes is from the side and the last 90 secs is just me swimming a little faster because I think I may change my stroke slightly.  Thanks for any input.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SF0-40FYqBA

2009-05-11 9:29 PM
in reply to: #2144795

User image

Pro
Pittsburgh, my heart is in Glasgow
Subject: RE: My swim video - please critique
Will post tomorrow, tried to form a better critique, but my pain killers/sleep pills are kicking in and I'm getting crazy.
2009-05-11 9:30 PM

User image

Veteran
Millstadt, IL
I'm no swim expert, only been doing it for a short time myself, but it looks to me like you're not rotating your body on both sides.  You roll on your left side to breath, but you never really roll on your right side.  I think if you focus on swimming longer you'll get that rotation from the other side, which should help propel you through the water. 
2009-05-11 9:57 PM

User image

Veteran
Overland Park, KS
I just watched the first minute or so.  It looks like your head might be down under water a little to much.  Also, I can't tell with your arms, but when they are going under you, almost want them to cross underneath rather then going straight.  you might already be doing this, can't tell.
2009-05-11 10:15 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran

i'm no expert but it looks like you're not finishing your stroke on both sides.  what another person said you should try to be longer in your stroke.  During your pull, your opposite arm/front arm sinks a little before you start your catch..

2009-05-11 10:50 PM