General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Breaking in my uncomfortable newish wetsuit vs getting a whole new one Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-05-17 3:49 PM

Master
Subject: Breaking in my uncomfortable newish wetsuit vs getting a whole new one
I'm a beginner swimmer.  I've only used my first and only wetsuit 3 times thus far.

Each time has been a near disaster. I unknowningly wore it to my first tri back in Nov, first time ever in open water and in the wetsuit, and finished near DFL (59/60th). The fitter at the store I went to (Trizombies Santa Monica) was very knowledgable, and insisted that it "fit me perfectly", but it honestly felt really, really tight - I told him this, and he said it would loosen with time and in the water. Unfortunately, I didn't wear it again until 2 weeks ago.

The other 2 times were better, as I've become a stronger swimmer, but for sure, my shoulders were fatiguing way, way faster than in a pool. The wetsuit was literally acting as a rubber band on my arms - no matter how high I pull the crotch and shoulders, my arms are restricted. I do have very large lat muscles, so I suspect this is part of the problem.

I did 2 x 250m short ocean swims today with a beginner OWS group. Nice warm ocean water. I did the first one in the suit with a fair amount of difficulty (shoulder fatigue again), and finished in the rear pack. Frustrated, I shed the wetsuit, and went in the 2nd time without it.

I swam MUCH faster - I was the 2nd one out of the water one the second lap! I guesstimate I probably went from a 3:00+/100m pace to 2:00-2:10/100m, or a 50% increase in pace. (I normally swim 2:00/100ish) Plus, I was ready to go for much, much longer, whereas with the wetsuit, I was hitting the limits of my arm endurance after 250m (never happens to me in a pool).