General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Indoor Training - Pro's Con's? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-06-23 10:17 AM

Subject: Indoor Training - Pro's Con's?
I wanted to hear peoples thoughts on training indoors.  I already own a good treadmill and plan to buy a bike trainer once I finally pull the trigger on a bike.

I ask because as reality sets in I realize I will probably be doing most of my training indoors.  I have a 4 month old son and as anyone with kids knows he demands a LOT of time.  It would be quite easy to sneak down and do an hour run or ride while he naps etc, but getting out of the house would prove difficult at this time.

Will this hamper my training if I am primary training indoors?  Aside from the boredom that is.

I would plan to get out and train outdoors as much as possible but with busy schedules it would probably be no more then once a week most weeks.

Keep in mind I have zero experience with competitive running, biking, swimming so I need to build miles in them all before I am worrying too much about times etc.

If this will be my primary training should I splurge a bit and get a better bike trainer that can simulate different things?

2009-06-23 10:30 AM
in reply to: #2236779

User image

Champion
Menomonee Falls, WI
Subject: RE: Indoor Training - Pro's Con's?
Hi and welcome to BT!

I am in much the same position as you, with two young kids (and a dog) that require a lot of time and looking after. I'm training for an IM and my wife also works, so that means fitting in training when I can and often that means on the bike trainer. In fact, Saturday I spent 4 hours on the trainer, which wasn't awesome, but I DID get my training in. As I see it, here are the pro's and con's of indoor training:

PRO's:

You'll get your training in.
You will gain fitness.
Weather is no problem.

CON's: