General Discussion Triathlon Talk » energy foods for beginner Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-07-05 11:33 PM

Subject: energy foods for beginner
I have just begun training to do a 5K after several years or minimal or no activity.  I am 30 years old (female) and very overweight.  I see a lot of these energy bars and drinks and supplements out there, but I always thought they were for serious athletes.  Someday I plan to go on long runs, bikes, or even walks, but today I am just beginning, so I have a few questions (sorry for asking so much):

1. What do you suggest for someone who is on Day One of a fitness routine?  I am looking for advise on what to eat (and how much) before, during (if necessary for such short workouts), and after exercise. 

2. Do you need to take energy supplements or drink sports drinks during short workouts (like walking - usually on a treadmill - for 30-60 min, playing tennis for an hour or so)?

3. Also, I am a student and I usually try to fit everything for my classes.  Right now, with summer I am 100% free on time.  So what I'd like is to eat breakfast, have something before the workout, do the exercise, then lunch, etc.

4. Lastly, some days I want to have a light energy filled breakfast and then workout, then go on with my day.  Do I need to eat something light before the workout and then something else after?  I am a little overwhelmed with what to eat and not eat...

I've heard that eating a small banana, some OJ, and a toasted English muffin with some jam is good to start if I plan on working out after breakfast.  Is this a good idea?

2009-07-06 8:30 AM
in reply to: #2263636

User image

Master
Morse Lake, Noblesville, Indiana
Subject: RE: energy foods for beginner