General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Pain Behind Knee...Help! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-05-03 7:53 PM

User image

Veteran
Woodbridge, VA
Subject: Pain Behind Knee...Help!
Ok, looked on-line but nothing seemed to fit so I am hoping for some insight from the crowd. Here is the scoop, went for a 40 mile Bike ride on Sunday and later that night the back of my right kneee, just above the calf seemed a little tight, no big deal right.....We'll it got worse overnight and is still here, swimming is no problem but I don't want to run or bike on it yet as it hurts some after sitting for a few minutes. Something just isn't right above the calf muscle at the back of the lower portion of the knee, any ideas, thnaks for the help!!!

jim

2005-05-03 11:19 PM
in reply to: #152249

User image

Extreme Veteran
Niagara Falls, Ont
Subject: RE: Pain Behind Knee...Help!
I'm not a doctor, but i do play on on TV......

(taken from the may 05 bicycling mag)
If the backs of your knees hurt, lowers your saddle. Pain in the front or sides? Raise it. If they hurt on the outside, try bringing it forward a bit.

is your bike fitted properly? are your cleats in good condition and properly placed?
2005-05-05 10:41 AM
in reply to: #152334

User image

Veteran
Woodbridge, VA
Got the bike fitted at the Tri Store, so no issues there. I have had that 'type' of knee pain before and it is more like the top part of the calf vs the 'back' of the knee, my bad on the post as it was somewhat confusing. Thanks

jim
2005-05-05 1:36 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Sioux Falls, SD

Does it hurt when you run also???