General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Neck gets sore when biking... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-09-10 4:16 PM

User image

Expert
Alabama
Subject: Neck gets sore when biking...
Of course i'm a newb.  The back of my neck gets really sore when biking and it's always on my left side.  The discomfort goes from the left side of the vertibrae on my neck and tends to run down my shoulder blade and around the bottom of my shoulder blade.  Every once in a while, it feels a bit like a nerve, but mostly discomfort and gets really tight.

Is this normal?  Am I too tense?  Can I do anything to alleviate this?  More time on the bike?  Build up my neck muscles?  I'm guessing its from holding my head up while biking for the period of time I"m on the bike.  I'm sure my posture on the bike could be a bit better.

Any ideas?  Thanks!!!

2009-09-10 4:37 PM
in reply to: #2399633

User image

Master
Bellevue, WA
Subject: RE: Neck gets sore when biking...
I'm going to assume this is a road bike...

Many things cause a pain in the neck :-)

I've had the same sort of neck pains, especially when I first started riding and if I ride a lot. Aero position makes it worse.

See a PT for real medical answers, but my armchair guess is you need to strengthen yourrhomboid muscles. I have had that as well as a weak trapezius, specifically the upper fibers.

http://www.criticalbench.com/exercises/rhomboid-exercises.htm
http://www.criticalbench.com/back-muscles.htm

The last four months I've been doing shoulder shrugs and rows in the gym, and it's been getting much better.

Other things to think about:

Are you leaning too hard on your arms? You should be holding much of your weight with your core muscles. If you have weak core muscles then you can't hold your upper body up, you lean on your arms, your shoulders and back hold your body up, and bingo neck pain.