General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Domestic vacation spot for a December OWS Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-11-04 1:18 PM

User image

Veteran
Chicago, IL
Subject: Domestic vacation spot for a December OWS
I'm in week 2 of a 20 week Oly plan for Tri out in the Southwest in March. My background is 100% running (did a few 1/2s this year). I feel OK on the bike so far, but the swim is going to be a challenge (just worked up from 16X25 three weeks ago to 10X75 yesterday). So, I think I'll be able to get there in 4 months based on my 3X plan. However, this is obviously all going to be in a Chicago area pool for swim training.

Anyway, I have a week of vacation during the holidays with no plans booked. I figured it would probably be a good idea to experience an open water swim (or 3) before I show up on race day. That being said, I'm trying to figure out where to go. I'd love to do a Sprint, in fact (should be ready for that by end of December), but can't find any outdoors (I checked both AZ & CA figuring those would be my best bets).

Where is a good location that I can either do an outdoor Sprint that week or at least get some open water experience? I'd think all the water in Florida would have gators and sharks. CA may be too cold, and I don't think I've ever seen someone just go for a swim in Tempe Town Lake. Unfortunately, I don't have a passport. So, south america/australia are out.

Any help or suggestions would be gretaly appreciated. Thanks.

2009-11-04 1:37 PM
in reply to: #2497527

Veteran
Subject: RE: Domestic vacation spot for a December OWS
Florida has a lot of ocean water without gators.

My family and I go to Naples a few times every year.  Gulf coast of Southwest Florida.  Can swim in the ocean where you like.

Works well as you can swim along the shore, and therefore never be too far from being able to stand.  I recommend going against the current on the way out.

Gordon
2009-11-04 1:41 PM

User image