General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » I must be crazy but I'm training for my very first Olympic Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-03-07 6:11 PM

New user

omaha,NE
Subject: I must be crazy but I'm training for my very first Olympic Triathlon

Hello Everyone,
 My name is Lesley and I'm an ER nurse, fitness instructor , personal trainer and a novice figure competitor. I will say that after only 1 week of "attempting " to swim, I have the utmost respect for anyone who does triathlons. I have always dreamed of doing one but never got the nerve to. Now that Omaha,NE is having an Olympic Triathlon (very first), I'm finding it hard to find excuses. I will say that the swimming is kicking my and I'm getting very discouraged. I thought I was physically fit, but I have met my challenge. I don't know how I'm going to do this but I will. It's been very discouraging when I swallowing water and panic . OMG...any advice.

I'm literally drowning!
Lesley

2010-03-07 6:17 PM
in reply to: #2713010

User image

Royal(PITA)
West Chester, Ohio
Subject: RE: I must be crazy but I'm training for my very first Olympic Triathlon

Welcome Lesley!

I used to work ER too.....15 years of insanity and love all but the last few months.  Good luck.  Will you be doing Hyvee?

2010-03-07 6:50 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Subject: RE: I must be crazy but I'm training for my very first Olympic Triathlon
Lesley, the learning curve for long distance swimming starts very shallowly, and then, just before you throw the lifeguards in the water, chairs and all, it starts to come and the learning curve steepens dramatically and the gains come thick and fast.