General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Road Bike Converted to Tri Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-04-01 4:45 PM

User image

Regular
Minneapolis,MN
Subject: Road Bike Converted to Tri Bike
So I'm new to this whole addiction called triathlons.

Unfortunately my wallet does not agree with the price of some of the "nicer" things in this sport.

I have a 2009 Specialized Allez that I will be racing this season.

I have purchased a Profile Design Fast Forward Carbon Seatpost that will put my seat closer to the position that a tri seat is at.

I purchased a set of aero bars to mount on my current handle bars.

I spoke to a man at the LBS today and he said that I could/should flip my stem on my bike so it is point downward instead of upward. I have been looking around online and have not read that anywhere else.

Has anyone heard of this? Is this something I need to be careful doing? Will my brakes and shifters need adjusted after moving my stem to a different location?

Has anyone done this with positive outcome?

I appreciate any and all advice/info. Thank you 

This picture is pretty much what it looks like now.

ETA: Should my saddle be higher or lower that the current seat level when in a tri setup? Or should I just maintain the distance between the crank and the saddle?

Edited by danfleck1 2010-04-01 4:48 PM

(allez.jpg)

Attachments
----------------
allez.jpg (96KB - 16 downloads)

2010-04-01 4:49 PM
in reply to: #2763945

User image

Sensei
Sin City
Subject: RE: Road Bike Converted to Tri Bike
No.  That's not an automatic (flipping the stem).  The fast forward seat post and earobars are typical things done to mimic a tri bike with a road bike.  After that, it's a matter of fit.  You should be fit for a triathlon/earo position, and that will determine if you need to flip the stem or not (OR remove spacers), etc.