General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Accidental etiquette breach Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-04-22 9:04 AM

User image

New user
Subject: Accidental etiquette breach

Was this a breach of etiquette by me?

I was riding around in NYC central park this morning, which for those who don't know is a 6 mile loop that has loads of cycling individuals and groups.   I was on my last lap and was working pretty hard.  Some guys decided to follow me in a paceline, which I'm cool with, though I didn't know how many were there.  When I was a couple miles from my exit, one of the guys pulls up next to me and offers to lead.  I said sure and I settled in behind him.  Then I realized that there were a few other people behind as well and I may have cut one of them off.  I don't know if they were all together or just random people.

Should I have made sure I dropped back behind everyone who was in the line?  I am pretty new to cycling and I am not used to riding in groups (planned or imromptu), let alone being fast enough for people to want to draft off me.

Anyone else have stories of accidently having bad etiquette?

2010-04-22 9:34 AM
in reply to: #2809606

User image

Expert
The Woodlands, TX
Subject: RE: Accidental etiquette breach
trunner400 - 2010-04-22 9:04 AM

Was this a breach of etiquette by me?

I was riding around in NYC central park this morning, which for those who don't know is a 6 mile loop that has loads of cycling individuals and groups.   I was on my last lap and was working pretty hard.  Some guys decided to follow me in a paceline, which I'm cool with, though I didn't know how many were there.  When I was a couple miles from my exit, one of the guys pulls up next to me and offers to lead.  I said sure and I settled in behind him.  Then I realized that there were a few other people behind as well and I may have cut one of them off.  I don't know if they were all together or just random people.