General Discussion Triathlon Talk » No leg extension or seated row machine at gym - replacement? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-05-16 11:17 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: No leg extension or seated row machine at gym - replacement?
I've just plugged in the Half Marathon (silver) program into my training calendar and come up against a couple of obstacles. 

The routines include activities that I can't do in the gym (lack of equipment) and I'm not experienced enough to know what's a suitable replacement.

The gym I'm using (at work) is free (can't argue with value for money) but doesn't have a leg extension machine.  I need to find a strength exercise for my quads.  Apart from delicately balancing barbells on my feet whilst sitting on a bench, is there any other exercise I can do for my quads?

I use the leg press that's available but unsure how much of a replacement it is.

Related to lower body machines, the gym has a rowing machine, leg press, cycling, recumbent cycling, and of course running treadmills.  And the usual free weights.

Also, I'm supposed to do a "Seated Row" exercise but there's only a rowing machine (the kind that you sit in and your butt goes back and forth whilst you pull).  The exercise in the link is all about keeping your back stationary, which you can't do (can you?) with our rowing machine.  And I'm only supposed to do 2 or 3 sets of 15 reps.  When I watch others use the machine, it's like a 10 minute or longer session they do.  Doesn't seem to be the same as what I'm being asked to do, as the "Seated Row" is only one of 6 strength exercises amongst 3 sets of core exercises and a tiny bit of running.  (Ok, a huge bit of running).  So I'm not keen on overdoing this rowing machine.

And I don't like it.

Any alternatives?

Edited by douginoz 2010-05-16 11:33 PM

2010-05-17 12:47 AM
in reply to: #2862357

Elite
Denver, Colorado
Subject: RE: No leg extension or seated row machine at gym - replacement?