General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Time VS. Distance Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-06-02 12:33 PM

User image

West Georgia
Subject: Time VS. Distance Training
What are everyone's thoughts on Time vs Distance Training for the various sports. This is my first year training for triathlon. Up until this time last year I was a pure runner. I was above average I think, 19:23 5K, and 5:38 Mile. My running season ended with a nasty calf/upper Achilles tendon  injury. I started to bike, on hybrid I borrowed then bought a nice road bike cause I liked it so much. I decided to get my running back up to where I was and try some triathlons this year. I started training seriously again about 6 weeks ago. I am using a HR program for beginner sprint. It is time based. I am really disappointed in the progress. My swimming is getting better. I can go longer distances but my bike and run seem to be stagnating. I am getting the same distance's or close to them in the same times week after week.

I am  having trouble coping with the injury thing because after a lot of time on the bike my cardio fitness is good but running is now abysmally slow compared to what I was pre-injury.

Starting next week I am going to replace my time based running in the program I am doing from  here with a distance/pace based program from runners world. I am going to continue with the swim training as I am really a beginner swimmer. I want your opinions on this and some suggestions for similar training I can do on the bike. I have decent base and it seems that this program I am on is all about base, no tempo, no speed work, no real long runs, and the same for the bike.