General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Starting over with a TI stroke for 1st Oly-short vs long term goals Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-06-04 1:34 PM

New user

Northern Kentucky
Subject: Starting over with a TI stroke for 1st Oly-short vs long term goals
I just finished two TI books and have concerns about committing to rebuild my swim stroke.

Im in my first year and have completed two sprints, each with swim times at 2:00 and 1:50 per 100. Ive come out of the water in pretty good shape, somewhere mid pack with these efforts.  My goal is to finish an Oly at the end of the summer, so Im working a 16 week BT Oly minute based program.  My current swim workouts are warmup/drill/main/cool for a total of 1200-1500yds.

My understanding of the TI approach is that one should stop most or all regular swimming to drill for 2-3 months and then gradually build swimming into drills thereafter, to try to neurally imprint the better technique and erase the old stroke.  

My concerns:
1) With this much drilling and that little swimming, will I finish an Oly swim. ( presuming I follow the three swim/week minute based workouts).
2) Is this a smart investment for a long term swim stroke?
3) Is it likely that this might improve my overall 1st Oly time/experience by getting me out of the water fresher.
4) Should I compromise and just do 15 minutes of drills mid workout, and gradually integrate TI principles of balance and efficiency into my current technique.
5) Should I scrap all of this, and go with my Swim instructor's recs ( Kick harder and more with a kickboard and fins until my legs get stronger and can propel me faster, keeping me more horizontal and faster. Kick at least 400 per workout with a board and swim more distance)

I appreciate the input of those who have used TI to improve their technique, and of  lifelong swimmers who have invaluable experience. Im leaning toward a complete stroke rebuild with a TI seminar to kick it off.

2010-06-04 1:45 PM