General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Gear priorities Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-17 11:25 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Gear priorities
Hi all -- I've been reading at BT for a while, but only now feel compelled to post. It's a pretty great community... thanks for all the racing wisdom I've already gotten.

I have a couple tri's under my belt and am starting to want some new gear. Obviously, there's a lot to be had (or wanted at least), and on a grad student's budget, I have to prioritize carefully. So I'd like to get some suggestions for a rough order of gear purchases.

For reference, and as my "introduction", I'm male, 30, 5'10"/167lbs. I've been training haphazardly for a couple years, and have started regular, well-planned, daily workouts this year. I've done a few sprints, the last one in 62 minutes and a half-marathon (1:47). I'm feeling pretty strong going into my first olympic-distance race in a few weeks. I'm signed up for a marathon later this fall and am eyeing a HIM next June with the intention of moving to the full iron-distance either later that year or the next. I'm currently riding a quality, but decidedly non-racing, old Panasonic road bike with caged petals and whatever components my buddy could find when he built it. Hey, why don't I just post a picture?

my bike

I use my iPhone to track speed and distance, I've got an Xterra wetsuit, a pair of tri-shorts, swim googles and jammers, and a made-for-biking camelback for longer rides. I think that's just about all my gear. So, here's what I'm thinking: