General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri in 11 weeks should I WEIGHT? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-22 12:05 AM

User image

Philadelphia
Subject: Tri in 11 weeks should I WEIGHT?
Hello my fellow Clydes and Athenas,

This is a question that may have been posted before and maybe I'm missing it but here goes:

I am a former football player (wide receiver) and I worked out a lot. Then one night I was watching a triathlon on TV and said "Walter this is something you need to do." So I started training. I have have lost about 10 lbs (237 to 227) and I am training for my first sprint coming up in Oct. Here is my question: I really believe in strength training b/c of my football history so I do a what is known as a High Intensity Training workout MWF with 10miles on the bike and 30 min run and swimming for 30 min on T,Th,Sun, should I lighten up on lifting or do you all think that I am on the right track? Should eliminate weights all together and focus on just the SBR? Or keep the weights incorporated as i do now? Again I apologize if this or a similar post has been addressed already.

2010-07-22 4:02 AM
in reply to: #2996431

Veteran
Townsville, Australia
Subject: RE: Tri in 11 weeks should I WEIGHT?
to keep it simple.. I think all exercise is good.. it can do no harm.

I have stopped doing a heavy leg day because of the amount of running and cycling I now do.. I use to smash my legs up so bad I could hardly walk down stairs two days later. 
2010-07-22 5:59 AM
in reply to: #2996515

User image

Pro
Without house
serenityau - 2010-07-22 4:02 AM to keep it simple.. I think all exercise is good.. it can do no harm.

I have stopped doing a heavy leg day because of the amount of running and cycling I now do.. I use to smash my legs up so bad I could hardly walk down stairs two days later.