General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Winter Maintenance Plan and HR Zones Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-11-03 1:33 PM

User image

Expert
Portland, OR
Subject: Winter Maintenance Plan and HR Zones

Took the LT test for Jorge's winter maintenance plan on Monday (after not having seriously cycled in a while), and averaged 16.7 at 170hr.  I was upset about how slow I went because I know I can average 18+ in races, but that's beside the point.  The biggest issue is my hr. 

Today (Day 2, Week 1), to be between 85-90% from my LT test, I was supposed to be between 144-150hr, but I was only pushing about 14mph, and it felt way too easy.  During the 5 minute rests, I was at 9-10mph to hit the goal hr. 

This is my first time really training by hr, usually I just estimated by the effort I felt I was putting forth (if the plan said 85-90% last year, I would have just stayed at between 16-17mph, and at 100-105%, I'd push at around 18-19mph). 

I guess it's all very disheartening for me because I know I'm capable of going faster than this, but my hr won't cooperate while staying within what the plan says! 

Anyway, the question really is, should it feel that easy?  Or do you think I should retake my test? 

Or what else is there that I need to know?

Thanks all in advance!

2010-11-03 2:02 PM
in reply to: #3193430

User image

Elite
Spring, TX
Subject: RE: Winter Maintenance Plan and HR Zones
Are you doing this on a trainer or on the road?

A good test is vital to setting your training zones.  If you don't feel the test was an accurate representation of your fitness, it's okay to do it again and start over. 

I'm not doing Jorge's winter plan, but he is my coach and I don't think his bike workouts are ever supposed to feel easy!!!  Some parts will feel easy, but the hard efforts should feel hard. 
2010-11-03 2:51 PM

User image

Veteran
Bedford, NH