General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Good places to train around Miami? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-12-08 11:17 PM

User image

Regular
Miami, FL
Subject: Good places to train around Miami?
Hi all!

I was just wondering where you guys train, specially bike and swim, around the Miami area.  Is it even a good idea to train in open waters  ? Also sugestions for places where you can bike without too many cars and intersections. I'm a newbie here, so any help is appreciated.  

Thanks 

2010-12-09 7:55 AM
in reply to: #3242264

User image

Extreme Veteran
Miami
Subject: RE: Good places to train around Miami?
Swim you have a few options, it all depends where in miami you live.  There are a lot of public parks with pools but a lot of them are closed during this time of the year (this horrible miami winter)....Other option is to join a local gym, most of them have pools, i work out at the LA Fitness in Sunset place and if you go early enough there is no one using it, but i'm sure you can find a gym close to you that has one.

If you are interested in a masters swim team try Swim Gym at the Miami Rowing Club in Virginia Key.  I dont know if they are meeting during the month of december but i'm sure you can give them a call and find out, they work with people of all abilities and its about 50 dollars a month and you can go up to 3 times a week, well worth it.  I dont have the number handy but if you are interested let me know....

Biking in miami without too many cars it is hard, you have to get used to them....The most popular route where you will find hundreds of cyclist every weekend is the Rickenbacker Causeway, connecting the main land to Virginia key, Grandon Park, Key Biscayne (as the area is known).  Besides that the Old Cutler Road is very popular, one that i like to use for my long rides....You can try checking out map my ride and look for routes in Miami, and see if there is anything that you find appealing.