General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 1st 70.3 planning, need advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-12-21 9:27 AM

User image

Veteran
St Louis, Missouri
Subject: 1st 70.3 planning, need advice

Hi All, I’m rather new to Tri. Several Sprints and one Oly under my belt so far. I’m a BOP finisher.

I need some advice. I’m thinking of doing my first 70.3 I was looking at the Racine 70.3, but I’m already registered for the Chattanooga Oly distance the weekend before.  It is totally crazy to attempt that 70.3? Could I go ez in  Chattanooga and use that as a warm-up?

I also thought about the Lake Geneva 70.3 on Sept 11. But I don’t know anything about how popular or organized it is. Any info?

My other option is to do Branson 70.3. But frankly the hills down there scare me. And I’d have to pass on the Chicago Marathon.

I’ll be doing the Trinona as a Oly earlier in the year.

ANY advice you all have will be much appreciated.

Thanks! Don

2010-12-21 7:37 PM
in reply to: #3255978

User image

NH
Subject: RE: 1st 70.3 planning, need advice
An Oly the weekend before an HIM sounds crazy to me.  You should be well into taper and getting your body ready for the 70.3.  That distance is a serious event. 

The best I could see with the oly would be a supported training day, but why would you do one so close to your actual "A" race?  Pick one or the other.  And good luck on the HIM, it's a great accomplishment.
2010-12-21 9:13 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Stuart
Can it be done yes. Some pros do back to back full IM. If you are asking Im guessing you are not at the training level that an oly distance is an easy training day. Doing your first 70.3 is probably your A race. You want to be 100%. It would be a great tune up distance a month out but not a week out. Last thing you want is to put in the work to do a half and be sore or worse injured from racing the week before. Good Luck
2010-12-23 12:48 AM

User image

Indianapolis