General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Tri Bike, Invest or Not To Invest? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-04-07 6:38 PM

New user

Subject: New Tri Bike, Invest or Not To Invest?

Hello people. I'm new to the forums and my girlfriend and I are both looking into buying our first triathlon bikes. I'm sure this has been asked before but I would throw it out there. I'm no pro and don't have the best bike legs, but I am currently developing them.

I am a recording engineer hobbyist and my mentality on spending money has always been, save your money for something good that will last a long time while producing great results. However, since I majored in Music Technology at school, I have to know the ins and outs of equipment and know where to invest and where not to invest.

So, when coming to a bike, what is the most important part to invest in? I know that a fit and a comfortable bike is number one, but you can buy cheap bikes that can be fit and are comfortable. I know that hardware, seats, wheels, and such is important and that can be upgraded, but what about things that can't be upgraded?

-Like the frame?
-What's the difference between the different carbons?
-How big of a factor is aerodynamics really?

-If you could have spent an extra $1000 on your first bike, why and what would you have spent it on.

We have our first sprint triathlon coming up and I think we should use old road bikes that have been overhauled. But the idea of buying a cheaper tri-bike just to have one has also crossed our minds.

Thanks people!
~trevor

2011-04-07 8:36 PM
in reply to: #3435150

User image

Champion
Brooklyn, NY
Subject: RE: New Tri Bike, Invest or Not To Invest?
Welcome!