Canadian Triathlon Forum Ontario » Welland Half Iron 2011 Rss Feed  
Moderators: Silver_wlf, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-19 6:56 PM

Subject: Welland Half Iron 2011

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here and am thinking of doing the Half Iron Duathlon in Welland next week. Just wondering if someone is doing the race/has done it before for any things to look out for...

also, I'm from Toronto, and dont have a car or any finalized plan on HOW I'll actually get to Welland, so if anyone is planning on doing this race and doesnt mind giving me a ride next Saturday, (at least from Niagara to Welland...) that'll be awesome! :D

I know this is a tri forum, but I'm still learning to swim and have a fair bit of background in running and cycling, so I'm giving this a try...

Thanks!

-Sunny

2011-06-20 6:02 AM
in reply to: #3556852

Veteran
London, Ontario
Subject: RE: Welland Half Iron 2011

Good morning, 

Welland is a flat and fast course. 2010 post-race feedback from our customers was excellent and everyone seemed to really love it. The run is entirely on a paved fitness trail and the bike course is very flat and fast. Between 55 and 65k you are travelling along the north edge of Lake Erie which means most days you will have a side or headwind. Specific details on the Half Iron Du are at - http://www.msctriathlon.com/ms/events/showracedetail.cfm?raceID=413

I hope we see you in Welland and please say hello on race day if you do join us.

Edited by John Salt 2011-06-20 6:03 AM
2011-06-21 7:25 AM
in reply to: #3557249

Hi John,

Thanks for the reply. I'm not much familiar with how events are organized so I had a reaaaally basic question:

I'm bringing a spare set of training clincher wheels along with my racing wheels as backup. However, if I have a flat out on the course with my race tubulars, what kind of assistance is there?

Is there any point in actually bringing a training wheelset at all since I wont be able to actually swap it out if I need to during the race?