General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Winter Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-08-31 6:33 PM

User image

chicago, il
Subject: First Winter
Dear All,

This will be the first fall & winter since I started training for triathlons. I just did the Chicago Sprint Tri and have the Lake Geneva Sprint Tri a week on saturday.

After that however I will be looking at a long Chicago winter of working out before next year.

I intend to start the season off with a sprint and then do 3 or 4 olympic distance events and then a sprint to finish the season.

I used a modified version of the 3x balanced sprint this year and liked it, but am looking for advice of whether to use one of the programs over the winter or whether there is a better way to train during the winter.

I thought about doing a 13 week sprint program Oct-Dec then do a 20 week Olympic program to take me through to May when I anticipate my first race.

Any comments/suggestions?

Thanks
Luke

2005-08-31 6:51 PM
in reply to: #238451

User image

Master
Harvard, Illinois
Subject: RE: First Winter
I would take some time off to let your muscles, tendons and ligaments heal. I always take a couple of months off at the end of the season just to let the body heal.
2005-08-31 8:20 PM

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
I would take a break and change things up a little, focusing on strength for a bit, and goign back to base building. I havn't read it, but apparently the triathlete's training bible has a lot of good info. The Ultimate Ride also has info on winter training.
2005-08-31 8:21 PM
in reply to: #238465

User image

Veteran
Seattle, WA