General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Newbie – first mini-sprint in 2 weeks! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-08-08 5:09 PM

User image

Regular
Bartlett, IL
Subject: Newbie – first mini-sprint in 2 weeks!

Hi everyone.  I’m a newbie from the Chicago area.  I finally got off the couch and into better shape in the last two years and got introduced to running races this year.  I’ve got the tri bug after reading “The Long Run” and hearing about tri’s at my chiropractor and reading about them online.  I’m trying my first event in two weeks – it’s a mini or super sprint distance and I can’t wait!  I love training for events and being the engineer that I am, I love researching and planning my training, too.  My blog says my ultimate goal is to run a marathon, but I’m getting inspired to amend that goal to run the marathon and then eventually an ironman event. 

I’m already looking ahead to next year (wishing I had gotten into tri earlier this year!) and trying to plan my race and training schedule.  I think I can get to the half-iron level physically by the end of next summer, can I gain enough experience by doing a few sprints and olys earlier in the summer?  Or am I better off focusing on the shorter distances for one season then training for the half the next year?  I'd love to do the half-iron distance, but I'm a little nervous that I'd be trying to pack too much into my first season.  Last question (for now) – are any of the training books from Friel, Fitzgerald, etc. worth buying or is online reading and planning good enough these days?

Thanks in advance for your help!  I'm excited to join the community!

2011-08-08 6:36 PM
in reply to: #3634774

Regular
Seattle, WA
Subject: RE: Newbie – first mini-sprint in 2 weeks!

First of all, welcome to the sport!