General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Biking uphill - stand or sit? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-12-17 3:54 PM

User image

Champion
Alabama
Subject: Biking uphill - stand or sit?
I'm a novice biker and just recently figured out how to stand and pedal without feeling like I was out of control (I down-sifted 2 or 3 gears before standing). A buddy of mine who is an experienced biker said that it is more 'efficient' to remain seated when going uphill.

This seems counter-intuitive to me but he said he's read this alot. I find that my speed drops significantly if I remain seated and try to get up a hill...even a small hill.

What's the deal? Is staying seated more efficient than standing?

~Mike

2005-12-17 4:03 PM
in reply to: #307612

User image

Expert
Herndon VA
Subject: RE: Biking uphill - stand or sit?
I'm sure you'll get a lot of responses but I'll give you my take. I'll stand for short hills especially on my tri bike but standing up for very long, drives up your heart rate. For long rides, I try to stay in a certain heart rate zone and standing on long hills takes me out of that zone. Yes, you can generate more power but it comes with a bill to pay in energy expended. I've found learning or training to climb seated helps on long rides and hills. For me, standing is equivalent to sprinting on a run instead of staying on pace.

Ernie
2005-12-17 4:06 PM

User image

Resident Curmudgeon
The Road Back
Gold member
There's a study out there that tells you to sit if you weigh X, stand if you weigh Y, I'm sure someone will cite it eventually. Meanwhile, do what feels comfortable and efficient. I prefer to sit as long as I can and stand when extra power/leverage is needed. Of course that extra power has its cost...
2005-12-17 6:27 PM

Champion