General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Total Immersion Swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-05-10 12:23 PM

Subject: Total Immersion Swimming
I need to swim 1/2 mile in open water by mid July and I haven't been swimming in over 15 years. I read the book Total Immersion, thank you Malvey your articles are great, and I tried the first drill this morning. Pressing your buoy.
I think I did it right, but I had a hard time keeping my butt and legs just below the surface. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
How far should I be able to comfortably swim in a pool to complete a 1/2 mile open water swim?

Any thoughts are welcome.

2004-05-10 12:28 PM
in reply to: #23960

User image

Master
Chicago
Subject: RE: Total Immersion Swimming
Tri-girl,Welcome to the site. Disclaimmer: I'm no expert, but you should swim at least 1000m comfortably preferably without having to stop before you swim a 1/2 mile in open water. But more importantly you should be comfortable with your freestyle or other stroke and survival stroke so that if something happens - say you get accidently kicked in the head, or grabbed - you feel strong enough not to drown! Meaning you should be so comfortable in your stroke that no matter what happens you feel good that you can get to shore without panicking! That means lots of pool time, mostly to get used to the water. Good luck! What tri are you doing? Ovetta.
2004-05-12 8:17 AM

Hammond, La

Actually your buttocks should feel the cool air on them as you swim, this means they should just be out of the water when you press your bouy correctly.

NOGILLS

2004-05-12 1:36 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Epworth. Iowa