General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ladies -- A bike discomfort question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-02-20 1:22 PM

User image

Veteran
Victoria, BC
Subject: Ladies -- A bike discomfort question

I'm pretty new to road cycling, and have just started to get back into cycling this season.  Whenever I ride my road bike, I have INTENSE soft tissue pain that starts about 20 minutes into the session gets worse and worse until the end.  The pain and soreness even last for a couple of days!!  I've never had this problem on my mountain bike.  Sure, if I haven't ridden for a while, my butt bones ache, but eventually the butt toughens up and I don't feel it anymore.  But on my road bike, it always hurts.

My question is, can soft tissue just "get used to it" like your bum can, or do I have a saddle/bike fit issue?  I have swapped my saddle 3 times with no real improvement.  The only way that I can pedal comfortably once I get going is to keep the resistance high enough so that I'm able to use my legs to take some of the pressure off my girly parts.  I usually ride on the hoods and sometimes in the drops, if that is of importance.

I'm just getting a little frustrated with this.  An accident kept me from cycling much last summer when my road bike was brand new, but I was having this problem then too.  What gives?

Edited to add: I did have my bike professionally fit at a good shop at the time of purchase.  They have been great about swapping saddles with me, but beyond that, all the men who work there are really unable to help.

Edited by element 2006-02-20 1:23 PM

2006-02-20 1:44 PM
in reply to: #350159

User image

Wife, Mother, Friend.
South
Subject: RE: Ladies -- A bike discomfort question

are you sitting with your pelvis tilted? don't.

Butt butt'r.  It helps me.

I'm more comfy in my tri shorts than my bike shorts.   

2006-02-20 1:48 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Seattle