General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Do you "have" to have a HRM? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-05-15 8:02 AM

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Do you "have" to have a HRM?
I havent had a HRM to this point in my training, mostly because I was so out of shape when I started working out that I thought any movement might make the thing explode on my part. Now I am getting to where I am what I would call being in "normal" shape. I can run a few miles, swim 1000mtrs, etc. So I can do the basics, I was wondering, would now be a good time to start looking at a HRM, or is it something only those doing the longer distance stuff really need?

2004-05-15 8:11 AM
in reply to: #25104

User image

Frugal Gear Geek
having fun with the kids
Subject: RE: Do you "have" to have a HRM?

When I started training I felt the same as you. As luck would have it I got a gift certificate to Sears and spent it on a low line HRM. It only displays current HR and total time at the end. It was about $45. Now I always wear it and plan on wearing it durring my race tomorrow. By no means is it my bible, but I depend on it to keep me honest and consistant.

2004-05-15 9:22 AM

User image

Elite Veteran
northern Illinois
I used to have one, but when the battery died I just never replaced it. I felt like a lab rat chained to equipment when I used it. But... I'm the sort of person who resists technology-as-toys and I get overwhelmed by too many data points. My husband, on the other hand, LOVES technology and figures there's no such thing as too may data points. So, it might be more a matter of figuring out when and how you'll use the information the HRM gives you.

When the HRM was new, I did learn that I was pretty much always working out too hard. The monitor would fuss at me when my heart rate got too high. That was interesting information and it did encourage me to take things down a notch -which I think has been good for me in the long run.