General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Huge change of plans...! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-11-23 1:04 AM

User image

Subject: Huge change of plans...!

I am a beginner triathlete coming from a running/swimming background...

I have entered the UK70.3 in June and planned for this to be my first race.

However... My training has gone very well, already capable of full IM swim in an hour. A number of 13 milers in trg in around 2hrs.

Only just started bike training but working hard on the turbo trainer and already clocked up a nmuber of 30 milers outside with lots left to spare.

Therefore... I've bitten the bullet and signed up for IM Wales in September so I will now use my 70.3 as part of my training. I know I can do it if my training continues like this and I put in lots of bike-run bricks...

I was hoping for lots of positive replies saying great option rather than 'You're mad'...!

Cheers guys.

2011-11-23 1:28 AM
in reply to: #3912671

SoCal
Subject: RE: Huge change of plans...!

dang, wish i were as strong as you. no, i take that back... i cant wait until i'm as strong as you!

good job! i'd do the same in your shoes.

2011-11-23 10:46 AM

User image

Elite
N Carolina

You are not alone.  I signed up for a full IM before I completed a HIM.  My HIM was about 3 months before the full IM and everything went pretty well.

Good Luck!

2011-11-23 11:16 AM

User image

Pro
Bellingham, WA
My advice would be to not underestimate the toll each discipline will take out of you throughout the day. 112 miles is a lot different from 30 miles and it will not matter how good a runner you are if your legs are trashed after the bike leg. If I were you I'd be focusing on how to get stronger on the bike. It is key to your ability to run.
2011-11-23 1:13 PM

User image

Expert
Vancouver (not Canada) Washington (not D.C.)