Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-01-03 9:58 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
North Brunswick, NJ
Silver member
Subject: Bike travel case question

Happy new year everyone!

Looking to do my first race beyond driving distance....  Ironman 70.3 in St. Croix .... I have no bike travel case experience.  I can take my wheels on & off but that is the extent of my bike technical abilities. 

Any suggestions and/or case recommendations?

Do airlines just consider this bulky luggage and treat/charge like golf clubs?

From the limited research that I've done it sounds like the bike hassle will cost more than the flight.

Thanks in advance!

2012-01-03 10:13 AM
in reply to: #3967922

User image

Champion
New York, NY
Subject: RE: Bike travel case question

yes expect to bend over and grab your ankles as far as bike case fees - however I have had some success getting a first/business class ticket and then no hassle. The first time I flew with my bike I rented a case from my LBS (subsequently I bought a trico case) and had them break it down with me (so I got a lesson on how to do it) I wrote everything down including which number wrench for what.... basically you take off the pedals, seat and wheels and the face plate to your handle bars so they can drop down/turn around and fit in the case.

I mark everything with a silver sharpie so I can get exact seat height and handle bar placement...

It is now routine for me

2012-01-03 10:19 AM

User image

Payson, AZ
I learned what not to do the first time I packed my bike.  lol  thankfully I was getting it overhauled when I got to my destination anyways and all the cables I ruined they replaced (planned replacement).  There are some very good instructions out on the web to how to best break down your bike, assuming you have some minor wrenching skills already.  But do make sure you mark everything you take off (seat especially) so you can put it back to the correct position. 
2012-01-03 10:20 AM

User image