General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » another newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-11-13 8:30 AM

User image

Expert
Rockledge, Fl
Subject: another newbie
Hi, I am new to traithlons too. I had never ran more than 2 miles before May of this year. I have done 2 Body For Life challenges this year that got me in great shape. I am now training for a half marathon coming up in 2 1/2 weeks and will start training for my first tri in January. I already do some cycling as cross training to my running. I am quite excited to do my first running race and my first tri next year. I have played competitive sports most of my life (baseball, beach volleyball, national softball team, racquetball) and I love the competation of tournaments. This is a new sport to me. I basically do a sport until a get good enough to where I would have to dedicate my life to it to get better and start a new one :-)

2003-11-13 9:04 AM
in reply to: #1728

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: RE: another newbie

great site and congrats on your bfl challenges!  i would just like to mention that, if your current mentality is to be the best u can be at a particular sport before dedicating your life to it then going on to find another...THIS WILL NOT WORK ANYMORE.  sorry cam, u r going to get addicted to tri's - the run, swim, bike will always be challenging even without going 'pro'.  most of us already dedicate our life to this great sport - it's a lifestyle.  yeah, we still have jobs and fam BUT u will be surprised on how much u can do with a job and fam with careful planning and early morning workouts.  PLUS it is addicting as hell.  once u get up to some mileage - its an adrenalin rush 4ever.  i bet your feeling the runners high for your 1/2 marathon now right?  u get 'down' when u can't run...am i right?