General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Race Questions for newbie Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-05-13 1:49 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Race Questions for newbie
I have been running for a few years and know how to pace myself on various distance races, but really don't know how to pace myself for a tri. I am signed up for a reverse tri on June 4th, run 5k, bike 15k, swim 1/4 mile. Just getting into the tri and not real quick on bike or swim - doing about 17 mph avg on bike for 10 mile ride with stops for intersections as needed, swim time around 8:16 for 100 yds. Running have PR of 20:26 for 5k, but lately haven't been doing short races, did marathon in Feb. 3:56 with 14 minutes lost due to knee pain. Also had question on setting up bike in transition area - can you put a water bottle on the bike ahead of race or is this not allowed?

2006-05-13 2:59 PM
in reply to: #422897

User image

Pro
Reston
Subject: RE: Race Questions for newbie

yes. 

what was the other question?

2006-05-13 3:09 PM
in reply to: #422897

User image

Expert
Iowa
It seems to me you are in good shape. You're a heck of a runner, and 17 mph for 10 miles on a bike is very respectable, especially for someone new to the sport. I'm puzzled by your swim time though. Is that correct, over 8 minutes for 100 yards? Ordinarily I would say if you're in good shape and have a decent base in all 3 sports, don't hold back in a sprint. Your pace can be all out because the pain is over in an hour, maybe an hour and a half at most. But if your swim time is correct, then definitely save some energy for that last leg - the swim is the last place you want to run into trouble. If it's a typo, then just go for it. And yes, you can put as many water bottles as you want on your bike ahead of the race.
2006-05-13 3:35 PM
in reply to: #422928

Elite
Laurium, MI