General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New to triathlon...not a good swimmer Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-04-03 2:12 PM

Subject: New to triathlon...not a good swimmer

Good day.  I'm quite new to the running a cycling world.  My name is Alex, I'm 36 years old, started running and cycling about a year ago.  I've recently joined a runners club near my house (the Running Room, currently aiming to complete a half marathon by the end of June) and cycle with a group of friends every Sunday for approximately 40 km.

My problem is swimming.... anyone in the same "boat" (pardon the pun)?  Should I be taking lessons?  How long does it take a "floater" not a "swimmer" to get the hang of it?  Should I just be doing duathlons?

Confused....but working on it.

Alex

2012-04-03 3:11 PM
in reply to: #4127743

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: New to triathlon...not a good swimmer

Hi Alex! Welcome to BT and multisport!

Swimming's a little unlike running/biking since at first it's primarily technique-based. Definitely get some swim lessons--tri-specific swim coaching is the best if you can find/afford it, but plain old swim lessons with someone who teaches swimming for a living will be fine! We can definitely help you with further refinements here once you get the basics down.

Also, I highly recommend BT's Mentor Program--check it out via the link at the top of the Introduce Yourself forum.

Good luck!

2012-04-03 5:56 PM

User image

Veteran
Waterford, MI.

Yup, what Yanti said.  

I started swimming about 5 years ago and could barely make it 100m.  After struggling on my own for awhile, I sought out some coaching and joined a masters swim club.  They fixed my self taught horrible technique (for the most part) and after some time, swimming actually became something I enjoyed and looked forward to.

Good luck and welcome to BT.

2012-04-06 10:20 PM

User image

Expert
Mastic Beach, NY