General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Collection of Cycling NOOB Qs Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-06 1:39 AM

Subject: Collection of Cycling NOOB Qs

Ok, I'm relatively new to Tri's but really want to ramp up my game this year as I train for HIM.  I've got several questions as it relates to cycling that I'm hoping you all can provide some guidance.

1 - when I ride on the trainer, I typically stay right in position (little movement).  However, whenever I go and ride outside, I always slide forward so much so that I can end up on the tip of the saddle and am constantly having to shift my weight backwards a little.  I've moved my saddle forward but it seems like it doesn't make much of a difference.  I can keep shifting it forward but not sure why it only happens when riding outside.

2 - My goal is to ride 3:00/mile for the HIM but I'm averaging about 17.5-19.  When it is completely flat with no wind, I can get up to 20mph.  So, to build up to get faster, would it help doing some leg work (curls, extensions) with weights or is it just a matter of riding more and pushing harder.

3 - Where is the best resource to learn about gearing or more correctly I really have no idea what gears I should be riding but try to get into a cadence range of 80-95.  I ride a 2011 Felt B14 stock so not sure if the crank and/or cassette are good enough or if I should change out for a better gearing?

4 - Would getting aero disc covers really make any difference to overall time/speed for a HIM?

As always thanks for all the assistance.

2012-05-06 2:00 AM
in reply to: #4193005

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2012-05-06 4:59 AM

Master
Connecticut
Subject: RE: Collection of Cycling NOOB Qs

1. check that your saddle isn't tilited.  If it isn't level, it can slide you forward.  If that's not the issue, I'd go in and get a proper fit.

2. No

3. http://sheldonbrown.com/gear-theory.html and  http://sheldonbrown.com/gears/