General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Sprint, wetsuit or no wetsuit? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-06-10 9:34 AM

User image

Subject: First Sprint, wetsuit or no wetsuit?
It's only 500m, and I'm not really sure it's even worth buying a wetsuit for this race. Maybe if I do more tri's I'll invest in a nice one. I do find "shortys" pretty cheap on ebay, but their not tri specific wetsuits.

I welcome any opionions or suggestions for this newbie.

2012-06-10 9:53 AM
in reply to: #4253829

User image

Expert
Hammond
Subject: RE: First Sprint, wetsuit or no wetsuit?
pbpunisher - 2012-06-10 9:34 AM

It's only 500m, and I'm not really sure it's even worth buying a wetsuit for this race. Maybe if I do more tri's I'll invest in a nice one. I do find "shortys" pretty cheap on ebay, but their not tri specific wetsuits.

I welcome any opionions or suggestions for this newbie.

I am a newbie too so take this with a grain of salt. I think it really depends on the water temps. If the water temp is below about 68 (that's my too cold temp) then I'd wear a wetsuit. Anything above that temp for me the wetsuit wouldn't be worth it. The time savings on such a short distance would get eaten with the time for me to get the wetsuit off. Of course I'm slow anyway so saving even a minute or two (and it wouldn't save that much time) wouldn't really change much in my race.

The only other thing that would be a factor to me is your swim skills. If you need the wetsuit for swim help that's a different story. Although I'll say if anyone needs a wetsuit just to swim 500m - they probably need more swim time before doing a tri. Thats just my opinion.

So I'd say if the water is warm enough - skip the wetsuit. But like I said I am way too new to really know from experience what I'm talking about- lol.

Good luck with your race,

Shelly
2012-06-10 11:13 AM

User image

I too am a newbie. Have not done my first tri yet, it is in one week.