General Discussion Triathlon Talk » newbie looking for help in the Chalmette area Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-06-25 4:27 PM

Subject: newbie looking for help in the Chalmette area

Just wondering if anyone on the board is from the Chalmette area. I'm just getting into the sport and want to make sure I get the basics down. Here are my biggest concerns

- I'm trying to find somewhere local to do swim training. (I know UNO and elmwood have pools but both are about 45mins away from me)

- I'd like to find a running coach or someone to look at my running form. From what I've heard, running isnt supposed to hurt

- Whats the deal with local tri groups? Is that something I should look into or should I wait a few seasons? 

Thanks!

2012-06-25 6:45 PM
in reply to: #4279747

User image

Pro
Baton Rouge area
Subject: RE: newbie looking for help in the Chalmette area
Can't really help you as I am in BTR but will say that you should look into any local tri group.  As a beginner they can provide a lot of good info.
2012-06-26 10:16 PM

User image

Expert
Hammond
Espiritu46 - 2012-06-25 4:27 PM

Just wondering if anyone on the board is from the Chalmette area. I'm just getting into the sport and want to make sure I get the basics down. Here are my biggest concerns

- I'm trying to find somewhere local to do swim training. (I know UNO and elmwood have pools but both are about 45mins away from me)

- I'd like to find a running coach or someone to look at my running form. From what I've heard, running isnt supposed to hurt

- Whats the deal with local tri groups? Is that something I should look into or should I wait a few seasons? 

Thanks!

Hi and welcome to BT,

I'm sorry I don't have much info about tri groups/ people in the Chalmette area. Unfortunately you are in a similar situation to me. I am in the Hammond/Ponchatoula area so like you am about 45 min from any real tri group activity. It stinks.