General Discussion Triathlon Talk » couch to IM - timeframe? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-06-29 8:48 PM

User image

Veteran
Worcester, MA
Subject: couch to IM - timeframe?
I'm just starting out, but my long term goal is to complete an IM w/out needing hospitalization.

I haven't seriously worked out in a while (except the last month or so), I'm in my early 30's, and I have a good bit of weight to lose. I have zero running background, some bike background, and I'm a confident, steady swimmer (out of shape former lifeguard, but no competitve experience).

basically, I'm trying to figure out a reasonable timeframe to move up to HIM and IM distances.

My plan for this year is two sprints (and, um, to run a 5K without walking), and then next year a couple more sprints and an oly. after that I get a little fuzzy... assuming I can consistently dedicate myself to training and lose the weight I need to lose, am I looking at 4 years, 5 years, before I have enough of a base that I can undertake IM training without killing myself?

thanks so much - you guys are what is inspiring me to get my out of shape butt off the couch to do this.

em

2006-06-29 8:53 PM
in reply to: #470377

User image

Extreme Veteran
Covington (New Orleans), La
Subject: RE: couch to IM - timeframe?

I think it depends largely on your level of fitness currently as well as how much time you can devote to training.  

I went from being totally sedentary to first sprint in 6 months.  First Oly 1 year later.  First half Iron 2 years after I started training.  My first IM is scheduled for this November and will be about 2 1/2 years after I got my butt of the couch.   I just kicked up training hours from HIM to IM level and I do anywhere from 8 1/2 hours (rest and recovery) to 16 hours a week.