General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Late starter Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-02-05 7:19 AM

New user

Stevenage (30 miles north of London)
Subject: Late starter

Hiya all,

I'm 47 and want to do an Iron man before I'm 50..  Bit of a task I know,  I've been running on and off for 16 years I suppose and can still comfortably run for an hour. I completed 3 London marathons, though the last was 10 years ago.  I've always swam but never competitively. This week I cracked a 2 mile pool swim in about 80mins. My weakest is cycling,  I do cycle most days but only a few miles to work and back. As age and rhuematatics take their tole, my knees and flexabilty also seem to be abandoning me. That aside, plan to do a couple of olympic distances this year and build to a half ironman next year.. full one the year after.

Andy

2013-02-05 8:58 AM
in reply to: #4608990

User image

Austin, Texas or Jupiter, Florida
Subject: RE: Late starter

No such thing as a late starter.  One of my good friends is a 70+ year old triathlete who started around the same age as you.  You'll do great. Looks like you're already training for distance and with a few marathons under your belt, you're way ahead of the average starter.  

Lots of great people to seek advice from on here.  

Are you in London?  If so, there are a few fellow Londoners on here as well.

Fire away with any questions you have in TriTalk.  BT is one of the most welcoming and accepting of first-timer type questions.  You can try searching for topics, but if you just fire off a question, people may link you to the previous thread of that topic.  

Again, welcome to BT and good luck in your training!

2013-02-06 9:52 AM

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL

Welcome to BT.  Never too late to start.  I did my first triathlon age 50, which was three years after having open heart surgery.