General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimming critique (video included) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-02-15 7:19 AM

User image

Groningen, Netherlands
Subject: Swimming critique (video included)

Today I had the opportunity to be filmed by a friend, and for the first time to see what the heck it is I'm doing in the water

I've been swimming for about 8 months I think (before then only recreational), varying from once a week (or no swimming in summer) to about 3 times a week the last few weeks. Mostly self-taught but I've taken some group lessons from the university, which have helped but they were quite general in nature. I plan on joining the student swimming club (they have assured me there is a "slow" group), but I was hoping with the collective knowledge I have seen displayed on these forums that some of the fishes here could maybe give me some tips, based on what they see Unfortunately it's only above water, but hopefully it is workable.

Also in the second and third video you will see a pitiful attempt at a flipturn. Please ignore it as I can do much better normally but it was a last second decision to do it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C03nXdJbX-g&feature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6SAFtlbCszE&feature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJUa4MZpujU&feature=youtu.be

Thank you in advance for the tips and comments!

2013-02-15 7:43 AM
in reply to: #4623317

User image

Master
Bolivia, NC
Subject: RE: Swimming critique (video included)
Snaaijer - 2013-02-15 8:19 AM

Today I had the opportunity to be filmed by a friend, and for the first time to see what the heck it is I'm doing in the water

I think you look fairly good, good reach and catch, hips are nice and high.  Something is going on with your hip rotation, you seem to bend in the middle as you roll.  I'm sure the good swimmers will offer some suggestions.  I fixed the links for you.

2013-02-15 7:56 AM

User image

Expert
McAllen