General Discussion Triathlon Talk » working strength sessions into the week Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-07-15 11:08 PM

Subject: working strength sessions into the week
I am new to the sport and starting a triathlon training program that involves weightlifting a few times a week. I have divided my swimming/biking/running into easy and hard days, and I was wondering if it would be better to do the weights on the easy or the hard days? Is it best to keep the easy days easy and make the hard days harder, or will it be better to even out the difficulty but have fairly hard workouts 6 days a week?

Thanks for the help, if you have any other advice, let me have it. I'm a total newbie.

Tom

2006-07-18 4:35 AM
in reply to: #483713

User image

Master
Loughborough, England
Subject: RE: working strength sessions into the week
I'm not sure that it matters really.  I think that you should have 1 very easy day per week and the rest is just what suits you best.  Just make sure that you can do each workout properly.  If you can' then change things around.
2006-07-18 5:59 AM

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL

Weight training gains depend on getting adequate rest and recovery periods afterwards - that is when the muscles actually repair themselves and get stronger.  Therefore you don't want to work the same body parts back-to-back if you can avoid it.  For example, leg strength exercises followed immediately by a hard bike ride, or upper body/arms routine followed by swimming.  Just mix it up a little bit and you should be okay.

I came from a weight-lifting/bodybuilding background, but have done less and less weight training as I have gotten more involved in tri training.  

Good luck with your training, 

Mark

2006-07-18 5:59 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran