General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Road Bike -> Tri Bike Critique (video) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-18 7:24 PM

New user
Subject: Road Bike -> Tri Bike Critique (video)
Hey all,

Little background first. I'm in my second year of tri training. Completed my first and only Tri last year (Poconos 70.3), and have B2B on the calendar as my A-Race this year. Although B2B (super flat course) is a great course for a Tri-Bike, I don't have it in the budget for this year, so I'm going to have to attack this race with my road bike (Podium 6), "decked" out into Tri mode. What you see in the video (link below)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBcja9wj4Ok

3 of the 4 spacers out from underneath the stem
Profile Design Forward seat post
Easton Aero Bars

I'm sure with 18 weeks until the race, I'll have more than enough time to get used to this position.

I was looking for some suggestions, either what I could add onto this set up, or what I could change from what I have now.

Thanks for your time/help, I really appreciate it

Chris

2013-06-19 8:34 AM
in reply to: crr5071

User image

Extreme Veteran
Connecticut
Subject: RE: Road Bike -> Tri Bike Critique (video)
I'm not a professional, my advice is worth what you pay it.
No joking around (this isn't ST) but your seat looks too high. Are you experiencing any discomfort in the sensitive regions, or having trouble getting in a good spot on the saddle? You could probably bring it down anywhere from 5-10mm from what I see. You should get both power and comfort from that.

I'll make a couple of assumptions -
1) you're making this change to gain speed, not comfort. If comfort were king, you'd ride in road position.
2) Holding 1 constant, you're willing to be mildly uncomfortable to gain aerodynamic speed