General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Thinking of doing Chicago Tri - never done before Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-09 10:42 PM

Subject: Thinking of doing Chicago Tri - never done before
Hello everyone,

I am a total newbie here, and new to triathlons as well. I've done my share of 5-10k races, a few half marthons, and Chicago Marathon the past 4 years (including this year coming up). Aside from the running, I do p90X religiously as well...just for background

At lunch with a few friends today one of them mentioned he's doing the upcoming Chicago Tri and said I should give it a go. The run/bike portion do not intimidate me, but the swim does. Don't get me wrong, I am a serviceable swimmer but not having done a tri before, nor the 1.5k distance I'm not sure it's a good idea to sign up. Thoughts???

If it sounds like a decent idea, is/are there any gear considered must haves? Do I need a specific bike, or handle-bars, wet-suit, etc?

Thanks.....and I won't be offended if anyone thinks I'm a moron for even considering this without proper tri specific training.

2013-08-10 11:50 AM
in reply to: geekrutherford

User image

Regular
Chicago
Subject: RE: Thinking of doing Chicago Tri - never done before

It looks like you can still sign up for the sprint and super sprint (the Olympic is sold out).

In m opinion, I don't think you should sign up for the sprint. If this is your first tri (and it's 2 weeks away), being a "serviceable" swimmer is not enough for this race. Because the race is so large, your swim wave will be pretty crowded and the washing machine effect (bumping, grabbing, etc.) will be strong.

If you really want to do it, the super sprint might be OK, and I say that because it takes place at Foster beach and you can walk a good portion of that swim. And for the super sprint, you don't need any gear, just use what you have.

2013-08-10 6:58 PM

User image