General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training for sprint but trying to build volume, too Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-08-01 11:45 PM

User image

Veteran
, New Jersey
Subject: Training for sprint but trying to build volume, too
I gave birth to my first baby in May (yay!) and started training a few weeks later; I registered for an Olympic tri in July last winter when I could still see my feet and felt brave! My goal was only to finish, and I did finish with a better time than I expected. My only goal in registering for races this summer was to get myself back in shape.

My next race is a sprint in early September, and this time I hope to actually compete in this one, though I absolutely don't expect a PR! I'm still relatively new to triathlon, and I could use some advice. I know that if I want to compete, I should train specifically for this distance. However, I still have weight to lose, and I want to build endurance as well. My normal training is a 22 mile hilly bike ride, 2000-5000 in the pool, and a 6 mile run. While pregnant, I rode my trainer and continued my normal run until I couldn't for medical reasons around 31 weeks (in February), and after that, I swam (slower every week) until I delivered in May. I resumed training when I was cleared to do so in June. Biking was easiest to resume for some reason; I'm back on track to very close to my pre-pregnancy pace. It was easy to get back to swimming distance, but I'm still incredibly slow. Running took the longest to get back because I had a C-section, but I'm building my pace faster than I'm re-building my pace swimming.