General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New to training with Power Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-10-09 2:11 PM

Fort Worth
Subject: New to training with Power
I'm new to training with Power but picked up a Stages Power Meter with my recent used TT purchase of a Cannondale Slice. Doing a search, I found a primer from Training Peaks on training with Power.

My question is, what do you guys use to capture the data? Seems like so many options with Garmin watches, Garmin bike comps, iphone apps, etc.

Then, do you upload to training peaks?

I need a simple solution to train and race on the bike under a threshold, so I can run the Ironman Chat 2015 after I got off the bike.

Thanks for any help.

2014-10-09 5:02 PM
in reply to: Beniger

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: New to training with Power
Originally posted by Beniger

I'm new to training with Power but picked up a Stages Power Meter with my recent used TT purchase of a Cannondale Slice. Doing a search, I found a primer from Training Peaks on training with Power.

My question is, what do you guys use to capture the data? Seems like so many options with Garmin watches, Garmin bike comps, iphone apps, etc.

I need a simple solution to train and race on the bike under a threshold, so I can run the Ironman Chat 2015 after I got off the bike.

Thanks for any help.

You can capture the data on a 910xt watch or a 500/510/800/810 bike computer
You can also use a Polar or Sunnto watch. There are other options
an Iphone will work but not allowed during a race.

A bike computer is easier to read IMO
Beware, some people have had problems between the Stages and 910xt.

A good, free piece of software is Golden Cheetah. Training peaks or WKO are also options to look at.

Read Coggan's or Skiba's book on training with a Power Meter.
2014-10-10 7:27 AM
in reply to: marcag

User image

Expert
Madison, Wisconsin
Subject: RE: New to training with Power
Originally posted by marcag