General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question for the Trainer Road experts Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-01-12 9:07 AM

Subject: Question for the Trainer Road experts
I am new to indoor training and trainer road and recently started a training plan (Novice century low volume) and want to make sure I am doing it right.

I am using virtual power on a Cyclops fluid trainer and did an FTP test at the start to get a basis.

So basically, while doing the workout trainer road gives me a target power and a recommended cadence (as a side note, I have always rode around an 80rpm cadence and these workouts are really helping be get that up to the 95 range).

So I am assuming my role is to find a gear on the bike that allows me to ride with a recommended cadence and maintain the target power. Is that correct?

The part that concerns me is that while doing the long rides this weekend, that gear had me in the small ring up front and maybe the 3rd or 4th ring in the back. I just can't picture myself riding in that gear outside. During the sprint tri's I did last year most of my riding was on the big ring and 4th or 5th in the back (although the cadence was much lower).

So am I doing this right? I just don't want to get 3 or 4 weeks into this plan and not get any benefit.

2015-01-12 9:32 AM
in reply to: 0

Veteran
Ohio
Subject: RE: Question for the Trainer Road experts
I use TrainerRoad, but am not a cycling expert, but will try to answer your question.

Basically, I would ignore the gear combination you are using on the trainer...it really has no correlation with what you will be doing on the road.