General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Master Swimming Clubs Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-08-28 6:43 AM

User image

New user

Subject: Master Swimming Clubs
Hi all,

I am new to the triathlon training business. I've been training for 2 months in hopes of doing a tri next spring. I have run for years, but my swimming needs some work.

I can finally swim 50m without stopping. I take a short break and then do another lap until I reach 1000m. I have had 2 friends swim with me to give me tips on my technique and neither one could offer any suggestions other than to keep practicing. I would really like to improve my endurance and work on making my stroke efficient. I also could use a kick in the butt occasionally. So, I was thinking of contacting the local master swim club. Here are my questions:
What can I expect at a practice?
Do you just show up to a practice or do you call and ask to come?
Is this the best route to improve my swimming?
Would it be better to get some private swim lessons from a Total Immersion coach? ($$!!)
Has anyone else been in a beginner swimmer at a Master Swim practice that can give me advice?

Thanks all!

2006-08-28 7:23 AM
in reply to: #523807

User image

Master
Rochester, NY
Subject: RE: Master Swimming Clubs
Welcome Katiemama,

Masters swim group provides coached workouts several times per week. They should provide not only the workouts, but also some technique instruction. Its really a good deal finance wise compared to private swim lessons.

Masters should be open to anyone over age 18. So eligibility probably isnt a problem.

You may have trouble finishing the workouts for awhile. But I guarantee that if you keep it up, you'll be doing them with no trouble in no time at all.

Good luck and enjoy the water. Its nice
2006-08-28 11:13 AM

User image

Veteran