General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Any Weightlifter Triathletes? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2015-09-23 1:03 PM

Subject: Any Weightlifter Triathletes?
Hi everyone,

I'm a super beginner, not to sports or athletics, but definitely to endurance. I'm in week three of my training to compete in my first sprint. I'm progressing fine (minus swimming), but I'm finding that my legs are really getting torn up between weightlifting 3x a week and my training (run x2, bikex2, swimx3 a week). I was lifting 6 days a week, but I've scaled back just because I know I can't continue 2-a-days with weight training at the volume I was doing.

Does anyone else weight train? Are my pains just my legs adapting to the conditioning? I'm about 5'9" - 175lbs around 9-10% bodyfat right now. I come from a bodybuilding/olympic lifting background.

Thanks for any advice.

2015-09-23 4:22 PM
in reply to: manimal

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Connecticut
Subject: RE: Any Weightlifter Triathletes?
Just my 2 cents - pick a sport. I love lifting too, but you don't want to carry around all the extra muscle weight when you are doing endurance events. Assuming your lifting will suffer from lack of recovery days. Give endurance work a fair shot, see what you can do - but it will be better if you are lighter and give yourself real off days (no heavy lifting). Easy for me to say, as a middle aged woman there were decreasing returns on my bulking up and I decided I wanted a different look, healthy and lean. You might not want to go there.

You do get different highs from slogging out a 30 min run than from getting in that next set of curls.

What brings you to triathlons? What do you want to do in the sport?

Mitzi

2015-09-23 8:45 PM
in reply to: MuscleMomma

Sarasota, Florida