General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training for Sprint Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-02-24 5:10 AM

Subject: Training for Sprint Triathlon
Hi everyone,

Sorry, I’m a complete newbie to the whole triathlon scene. I have been roped into doing the Brownlee Sprint Triathlon at Harewood House on 24 September 2016, for charity and in memory of my auntie who passed away with cancer in January.

I am really excited about the challenge, however, i have no idea how to really train for a triathlon and the three disciplines involved. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Currently, i have just started running and i am an ok swimmer, although i do need to perfect my front crawl. As for a bike i am in the process of upgrading my hybrid bike with new wheels and better brakes. I have been running now for two weeks at least 4 times, doing 3-4 km runs. I have also been attending spinning classes at my local gym to help build some biking fitness up, as well as weight training. With regard swimming i will be starting this next week at my local swimming baths. Is this a good way to begin training?

Also one of my questions is when training do you train in all three disciplines in one day, or do you focus on running, swimming and cycling separately and bring it all together on the day of the competition? Oh and is a good idea to enter a 10km run to get help with getting idea as to how a competition day would feel as well as measure fitness?

I apologise for all the questions but again this is all new to me and go easy on me

Ta

2016-02-24 7:33 AM
in reply to: Yorkie1981

User image

Expert
Pfafftown, NC
Subject: RE: Training for Sprint Triathlon
Where to start?

OK....how far is the swim? Can you swim that far? How do you know you can swim that far?

I'd start right there. Good luck!
2016-02-24 7:37 AM

User image

Durham, North Carolina