General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Triathlon Coaching Advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-03-18 7:40 PM

Subject: Triathlon Coaching Advice
I am new to triathlon training. I have never done a triathlon before and I am planning out my triathlon strategy now. Finding a coach is my most important step. I wanted to know what the best approach for finding a coach is. For example, how many sessions should I plan for per month? Whats a good price for an affordable coach, should i pay per session or on a monthly basis? What else do i need to know about finding a coach.

2016-03-18 9:12 PM
in reply to: Dsaenz04

User image

Regular
Pueblo, Colorado
Subject: RE: Triathlon Coaching Advice
Here's my thought: For your first triathlon, you can go with a coach,but it isn't really a priority. Instead, invest in a few books and take advantage of one of the free plans that are available on BT or other sites. Save your coaching $ for later down the road if you need one then. The first time out is about the experience and enjoying yourself!
2016-03-18 10:58 PM
in reply to: tedjohn

User image

Expert
Madison, Wisconsin
Agreed.

Right now just immerse yourself in the sport. Read books, train with groups of you can. If anything join a local club and progress from there.
2016-03-19 12:42 AM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member