General Discussion Triathlon Talk » big guy, watn to move from sprints to do a 70.3 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2016-07-05 4:19 PM

User image

Subject: big guy, watn to move from sprints to do a 70.3
I have been doing sprints for a couple of years now, and podiumed for the first time in the Clydesdale division my last race. I want a new challenge in the hopes of really slimming down and making good food and life choices. I would appreciate any advice for devising a plan to attack a half-iron. Thanks!

2016-07-05 4:33 PM
in reply to: n8dawgbu

Subject: RE: big guy, watn to move from sprints to do a 70.3
Originally posted by n8dawgbu

I have been doing sprints for a couple of years now, and podiumed for the first time in the Clydesdale division my last race. I want a new challenge in the hopes of really slimming down and making good food and life choices. I would appreciate any advice for devising a plan to attack a half-iron. Thanks!

Former big guy here....

Mix in an Olympic.
Swim regularly and often and seize open water sessions when you can. If you're not a 'swimmer', you can make the fastest 'proportional' gains swimming. Nothing better than getting into the water confident and coming out strong. That's a leg up on a lot of folks, I think.
Get used to riding 50 miles on a bike.
Find a training plan that fits your goals and investment. Myself, I'm a completer and didn't want to spend hours evaluating heart rate data and understanding RPE and carrying around a book of training sessions just to keep track of it. There's plans out there that are (super simple....key Google words there) that aren't much more difficult than "ride 40 minutes with five 1 minute sprints of hard effort". Or, if getting into the HR data or RPE or complexities is intriguing, find one that does that. There's several on this site.