General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 4 weeks to train for first tri-a sprint Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-09-10 3:49 PM

Subject: 4 weeks to train for first tri-a sprint
i am a teacher and our elem school wellness committee is offering a triathlon- 300yd swim, 10 mile bike, 5k run -- the catch--in 28 days. this will be my first triathlon and i am not a coucher, but not in great shape. yesterday, at a slow comfortable pace, i swam 6 laps (in 12 minutes), stationary biked 5.2 miles (in 25 minutes), then ran huffing and puffing for 20 minutes stopping a few times for 30 seconds slow walks. my goals- become more fit, gain muscle, i don't care about winning, i'd like to do the entire race without stopping, finishing in the top 20 maybe or better if possible. i'm completely new to triathlons so i'm not sure what goal times in each leg of the race i should be shooting for. i'm 32 years old, 5 feet 8 inches, about 145 pounds... if that matters in you helping me design a plan.

i need some help please, coming up with a training program for the next 4 weeks to get me as prepared as possible. i could devote 4-6 days per week at about 45-60 minutes per day to training. thank you so much for spending some time helping me figure this out. greta

2006-09-10 3:52 PM
in reply to: #535650

Subject: RE: 4 weeks to train for first tri-a sprint
I dont have a bit of advice but just wanted to wish you good luck.
2006-09-10 3:52 PM
in reply to: #535652

well thank you!!! that's very kind. greta
2006-09-10 4:18 PM

User image

Veteran
Acworth, Georgia

Greta,

I just posted the following to another new user, but thought it may help some.  You have a much shorter timeframe but from your decription below, you should be able to make it.  4 weeks can make a big difference.  Just pick the "Couch to sprint" training plan and enter it with 4 weeks left.